About the Award

The President’s Design Award is Singapore’s most prestigious design accolade. Established in 2006, the Award recognises excellence across all design disciplines.


The founding objectives of the Award are to recognise the significant achievements of Singapore’s design talents and the contributions they have made to Singapore’s economic competitiveness and quality of life; engender pride in the nation’s outstanding designs and leading designers among Singaporeans and in turn nurture among Singaporeans a greater awareness of quality design in all areas; and demonstrate to industry, businesses, the general public and the international community the government’s commitment to design development and promotion.


The Award is presented in two categories – Designer of the Year and Design of the Year. So far, a total of 39 Designers of the Year and 99 Designs of the Year have received the Award. The Award is conferred by the President of the Republic of Singapore, and is jointly administered by the DesignSingapore Council and the Urban Redevelopment Authority.


In 2017, the Award was reviewed and refreshed with a new framework that aims to amplify the impact of design and the significance of the work that designers do across society. The new Award framework encompasses three key changes:


1.           Refining the definition of “design excellence” to recognise the transformational potential of design alongside excellence in craftsmanship, celebrate the designers who work collaboratively on complex issues, and celebrate future-forward designs and processes that anticipate, envision and shape the world of tomorrow;


2.           Broaden the reach of the Award by expanding outreach and engagement locally and internationally, and raising awareness on how design impacts lives; and


3.           Putting PDA on a biennial award cycle to allow sufficient time for complex projects to have their impact felt, maintain the high quality of submissions, and enable the secretariat to focus on extensive local and international outreach and engagement.