JUROR 2014

Dr Erwin Viray

Professor, Architecture and Design,
Kyoto Institute of Technology



Erwin Viray is Professor of Architecture and Deputy University President at the Kyoto Institute of Technology, Japan. He has been editorial associate of a+u (Architecture and Urbanism), Tokyo since 1996.

He obtained a BS Arch (cum laude) from the University of the Philippines in 1982, a Master of Engineering in Architecture at Kyoto Institute of Technology in 1986 and a Doctor of Engineering in Architecture at the University of Tokyo in 1991.

Erwin Viray was Assistant Professor in the Department of Architecture at the School of Design and Environment of the National University of Singapore (NUS) before taking up the position of Professor of Architecture and Design at the Kyoto Institute of Technology in July 2011. He was Head of the Graduate School of Architecture Design in 2012 -2014. Since 1 April 2014, he has been appointed as Deputy University President.

He is also Design Critic of Architecture at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD) in Cambridge, MA, USA.

He has received awards from the Council of Europe Swedish Institute Scholarship (1986), Japan Foundation Fellowship (1990), and the Kyoto City Appreciation Award (2001).

Erwin Viray was jury expert of the Zumtobel Award for Humanity and Sustainability, jury of UIA Asia Architecture Olympiad in 2009, award ambassador for the Holcim Award for Sustainable Construction, member of the planning and management committee of TOTO Gallery Ma, Chair of the jury for Archiprix SEA 2012, jury of the President’s Design Award (Singapore) 2012 and Chair of the AUD Panel jury of the President’s Design Awards (Singapore) 2013.